News Archive

Congratulations to the 2014-2015 SoM Student Award Winners!

Article photo

Undergraduate Awards
Undergraduate Academic Achievement Award – METR Senior w/ Best Overall GPA – Benjamin Toms
Undergraduate Academic Achievement Award – METR Junior w/ Best Overall GPA – Brett Borchardt, Rachel Frazier, Andrew Moore, Rachel Norris
Faculty Recognition for Outstanding Performance as an Undergraduate – Jessica Tomaszewski
SoM Director’s Recognition for Outstanding Service to the Department as an Undergraduate – Kate-Lynn Walsh
The Mark & Kandi McCasland Award four Outstanding Undergraduate Research – Conor McNicholas

Graduate Awards
Douglas Lilly Award for Best PhD Student Publication – Nicholas Gasperoni
Yoshi Sasaki Award for Best MS Student Publication – Christopher Kerr
Tommy C. Craighead Award for Best Paper in Radar Meteorology – James Kurdzo
SoM Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award – Amanda Kis
Faculty Recognition for Outstanding Performance as a Graduate Student – Ben Blake
SoM Director’s Recognition for Outstanding Service to the Department as a Graduate Student – Dylan Lusk

Special SoM Scholarships
Kelvin & Lisa Droegemeier Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Meteorology – Martin Satrio
Eric Nguyen Memorial Scholarship – Andrew Lyons
Fawbush-Miller Scholarship for Excellence in Forecasting – Benjamin Toms
Forrest W. Johns Memorial Meteorology Scholarship – Kelton Halbert
Rex L. Inman Memorial Scholarship – Stuart Edris
E.W. (Joe) Friday Scholarship – Sarah Rodriguez
Thomas Julian Lockhart Scholarship in METR Measurements & Observing Systems – Brandon Taylor

Congratulations to Brandon Centeno & Clarise Dyson - 2015-2017 Hollings Scholarship Recipients!

Article photo

The Hollings Scholarship Program provides successful undergraduate applicants with awards that include academic assistance (up to a maximum of $8,000 per year) for full-time study during the 9-month academic year; a 10-week, full-time internship position ($650/week) during the summer at a NOAA facility; and, if reappointed, academic assistance (up to a maximum of $8,000) for full-time study during a second 9-month academic year. The internship between the first and second years of the award provides the Scholars with “hands-on”/ practical educational training experience in NOAA-related science, research, technology, policy, management, and education activities. Awards also include travel funds to attend a mandatory NOAA Scholarship Program orientation, conferences where students present a paper or poster, and a housing subsidy for scholars who do not reside at home during the summer internship.

Meteorology PhD Candidate wins Fellowship

Article photo

Meteorology PhD Candidate wins Fellowship

BIG congratulations to meteorology doctoral degree candidate Larissa Reames, was just awarded a Blue Water Fellowship. Blue Waters Graduate Fellowships provide PhD students with a year of support, including a $38,000 stipend, up to $12,000 in tuition allowance, an allocation of up to 50,000 node-hours on the powerful Blue Waters petascale computing system, and funds for travel to a Blue Waters-sponsored symposium to present research progress and results.

The Blue Water program cuts across a wide range of fields that make intensive use of supercomputing, so the competition is steep.  Among the ten winners last year were investigations into how galaxies change through cosmic time, ionized plasma, data corruption on large super computing systems, accelerated particles and issues in weather and climate. The universities for last year’s winners included Cal Berkley, Harvard, Stanford, and the University of Illinois.  Thanks to Larissa, OU is on that list this year! 

The honor is well deserved. Larissa earned her BS in Meteorology with Special Distinction in May of 2009 and her Master of Science in Meteorology in December 2012.  She is a strong and enthusiastic researcher who serves as an excellent mentor to the School’s incoming graduate students. 

Once again, CONGRATULATIONS, Larissa!

Provost’s PhD Dissertation Award Winner

Article photo

Dr. Aaron Johnson, a postdoctoral research scientist in the School of Meteorology, was the recipient of a 2014 Provost’s PhD Dissertation Award for his paper “Optimal Design of a Multi-Scale Ensemble System for Convective Scale Probabilistic Forecasts:  Data Assimilation and Initial Condition Perturbation Methods.”  Dr. Johnson earned his doctoral degree from OU in December, 2014.

Remembering Professor Emeritus Yoshi K. Sasaki —1927 to 2015

Article photo

Yoshi Sasaki

The School of Meteorology is sadden by the loss if Dr. Yoshi K. Saskai, one of the founders of our School. We extend our condolences to his wife, Koko, his sons Larry, James, and Okko, and daughter Anna for the loss of this wonderful and kind person.

Dr. Yoshi Sasaki earned a Ph.D. in Science from Tokyo University in 1955. Born in Akita, Japan in 1927, Dr. Sasaki emigrated to the United States after World War II. He moved to the University of Oklahoma in 1960 to help found our program.  Dr. Sasaki holds numerous title and awards including the induction into the American Meteorological Society’s title of Honorary Member, the Fujiwara Award from the Meteorological Society of Japan, and was presented the “Order of the Sacred Treasure” by the Emperor of Japan and appointed as an Honorary Consul General of Japan. He held the title of George Lynn Cross Research Professor Emeritus title at the University.

Within Oklahoma, Dr. Sasaki’s contacts in Japan have helped to bring high-tech industries like Hitachi and Weather News to Oklahoma. He also helped to attract a number of distinguished professors and scientists from Asia. Although he became a citizen of the United States in 1974, he still holds the title “Honorary Consul General of Japan.” Yoshi K. Sasaki was inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2004.  Oklahoma even had an official Dr. Yoshi Sasaki day on 2 January 2009 by proclamation of then Governor Brad Henry.

Dr. Sasaki had a large impact on our field as he was an early proponent of utilizing variational approaches to drive the initial conditions for numerical weather prediction models. Aspects of this general approach are still utilized today. His doctoral students include Dr. E. W. (Joe) Friday (former Director of the National Weather Service Director), Dr. Robert Sheets [former Hurricane Center Director], and a number of outstanding scientists within NOAA including Charles “Chuck” A. Doswell, Dr. Stanley L. Barnes, Dr. Jerome P. Charba, Dr. John McGinley, Dr. John M. Lewis and elsewhere in the field. A more complete list of his graduate students will appear later on this web site.

Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›