News Archive

Herb Stein

Article photo

It is with great sadness that we note the loss of our friend and colleague, Herbert Stein. Herb wrote of his own interest in tornadoes from an early age, and began doing damage surveys from as early as his high school years, having Dr. Ted Fujita as his childhood hero. He studied at Ohio State University before transferring to OU, where he began storm chasing in earnest. At OU, he worked on such ground-breaking projects as VORTEX, several published papers on Doppler Radar observations, and the DOW trucks. Herb worked closely with Dr. Howie Bluestein, who had this to say “He was the driver of our chase vehicle in the late 1980s and early 1990s, who safely navigated us to and from storms under adverse driving conditions. A great conversationalist and knowledgeable on many non-meteorological topics also, he was a pleasure to be around; he was a real storm enthusiast and took spectacular photographs. When he was our driver, he also worked as an emergency medical technician. In the mid-1990s he became a driver for one of the DOWs for Josh Wurman.
Herb passed away on Feb. 4 during the afternoon after a “hard fight with pancreatic cancer.” I had learned several months ago from Josh Wurman of his illness and of his passing just a few days ago from Blake Naftel via Herb’s son Freddie.” Herb will certainly be missed.

The School of Meteorology celebrates Black History Month

Black History Month

Keep checking this page throughout February as we honor the accomplishment and contributions of African-Americans to the field of Meteorology.

Dr. Charles Anderson

Article photo

The SoM is proud to celebrate Black History Month by highlighting the accomplishments and contributions of some of our field’s most important names. We begin with Charles E. Anderson (1919 – 1994):
Born in 1919, Charles Edward Anderson was the first African American to earn a PhD in meteorology. That degree was from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1960.
For his original meteorological training, Dr. Anderson attended the Army Air Forces Meteorological Aviation Cadet Program at the University of Chicago in 1943 and was assigned to the Tuskegee Army Airfield weather detachment. Anderson served as weather officer at several Army Air Force bases around the US until his release from active duty in 1948.
From 1961-65, Dr. Anderson worked at the Atmospheric Science Branch of Douglas Aircraft Company, California. He served as Director of the Office of Federal Coordination in Meteorology in the Environmental Science Service Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce, from 1965 to 1966.
From 1967 to 1969, Charles Anderson was appointed as Professor of Space Science and Engineering at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. From 1966 - 1987, Professor Anderson served as the Professor of Meteorology and Chairman of Contemporary Trends Course and in 1970, Professor Anderson was appointed Professor of Afro-American Studies and Chairman of the Meteorology Department. In 1978 Professor Anderson was elevated to Associate Dean at University of Wisconsin, Madison.
Dr. Anderson was a professor in the Department of Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC, from 1987 until he retired in 1990. He was a major contributor to a program at the university that has received national recognition for its forecasting of severe storms. In addition to his dissertation for MIT, he did pioneering work in reducing contrails of high-altitude jet aircraft as well as work focused on cloud and aerosol physics and meteorology of other planets.
Taken from the AMS page on the award named for him.…/aw…/the-charles-e-anderson-award/

OU students win 2nd place in National Climate Game Jam contest

OU students win 2nd place in national Climate Game Jam contest.  NOAA sponsored its first nationwide game jam, designed to engage students at all levels (K-12 and university) and adults and gaming professionals in developing games about to teach the public about climate change.  OU students David Gagne (SOM), Timothy Supinie (SOM), Andrea Balfour (CS), and Sarah Garfinkel (Geography) collaborated to create the game Climate Conquerors.  This board game combined elements of successful board games to create a world where the players must collect resources to grow their cities while maintaining an overall positive carbon impact on the environment.

Here is the video for the game they made:

Outstanding Junior

Article photo

The 2015-2016 Outstanding Junior is Tyler Wawrzyniak.  Tyler is a meteorology major from China, Michigan.  He is a member of OWL (the Oklahoma Weather Lab), serves as a mentor to freshmen meteorology majors, and is working with Dr. Chilson on the CLOUDMAP UAV research project.  Tyler is also a member of the American Meteorological Society and has participated in “Relay for Life.”


Page 1 of 9 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›